About Us

The Boone County Historical Society was organized in 1937 and met for many years in members homes. Lacking a facility for a museum, they collected artifacts and stored them in various locations. In 1965, the Society purchased the Gas & Electric building on Whitney Boulevard for a museum. On May 30, 1968, the ribbon cutting ceremony was held and the Boone County Historical Museum was open to visitors!

The museum continued to grow over the yeas and in 2012, the museum underwent a big expansion to combine the museum with the old Blackhawk Bank, which was purchased in 2007. On December 6, 2013, the ribbon cutting was held and the museum reopened complete with the beautiful Grand Gallery!

The Museum is incorporated as a non-profit organization with membership open to every citizen who has an interest in Boone County history.

Mission Statement

"The mission of the Boone County Historical Museum is to stimulate interest in Boone County history through education, research, preservation of artifacts and archival materials"

Museum Hours

The museum is open to the public Tuesday - Friday 9-5 and Saturday 9-3.                                                                                  


Free will donation

Our Objectives


To excite and stimulate interest in local, county and state history, believing that to place emphasis on local history, is to establish a sound foundation and appreciation of how our county became what it is today


To collect and preserve all forms of historical matter which pertains particularly to local and county events.


To secure adequate representation from every township and from each church, school, club, lodge, and organization in each township.

About Our Boards

District Board

The District Board was established in 2004 and is made up of five members. Each member is appointed by the Boone County Chairman for a term of five years. 

District Board meetings are help on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at the museum and all meetings are open to the public

The Mission of the Boone County Museum District is to create an awareness of and appreciation for the historical, cultural and commercial development of the Boone County area through a commitment to preservation, resource management and display of historical artifacts for the public.



Society Board

The Society board is made up of 15 members that have been elected by the members of the museum. Each board member may sit on the board for a total of two terms with each term being three years.

Society board meetings are held every other month on the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 5:30pm. All meeting are held at the museum and are open to the public.

The mission of the Boone County Historical Museum is to stimulate interest in Boone County history through education, research, and collection and preservation of artifacts and archival materials.

District Board Members


Teri Keegan-President     Danny Anderson     Becky Peters-Treasurer     Lois Ramon-Secretary     Jim Zahrndt-Trustee

Society Board Members


Dale Drake-President     Grant Michaud-Vice President     Dick Stegemann-Treasurer     Pam Zuromski-Secretary     
Dave Harbolt     Tom Chennell    Carol Rowe     Richard Van Evera     Micki Ernest     Naomi Schultz     Becky Tobin   Jim Cox     John Ellingson    Mike Doyle     Ann Turner

For more information do not hesitate to contact us.